FVDS Awards Evening 2015

Forth Valley Disability Sport held their Awards at the Albert Hall on Monday 22nd February 2016. The event was a great success with over 120 in attendance. The purpose of the award ceremony is to reward and acknowledge the hard work and dedication of athletes, coaches and volunteers in the year of 2015.

Angus Whyte, FVDS Chairperson, welcomed all the guests and conducted the AGM followed by Graham Harvey, FVDS Branch Co-ordinator, who presented the awards. Briefly highlighted each of the achievements of the nominees for the 10 categories of awards were closely contested.

The evening was hailed a great success by coaches, clubs, athletes and volunteers alike. Mitchell Graham FVDS Youth Worker in Sports Trainee said "This year 2015 have been eventful for everyone. The nominee's enthusiasm and hard work had paid off. The winners greatly deserved their awards."

Thanks goes to all the sponsors of awards listed below but a special thank you must go to Falkirk, Stirling and Clackmannanshire Councils provosts who once again sponsored the evening by providing the excellent venue and buffet for all attendees.

Thanks to speaker Joanna Butterfield, F51 Club Throw IPC World Champion and Record holder, for her inspirational speech.

Many thanks once again to Gavin Macleod, Chief Executive Officer, Scottish Disability Sport, for his closing remarks.

If you or anyone else would like to know more information about Forth Valley Disability Sport, please contact us by email.

Congratulations to all winners listed below

Community Coach - Participation - Fred Smith (Stirling City All Stars)"
Fred Smith
Stirling City All Stars
Community Coach - Participation
Sponsored by: Forth Valley Disability Sport
Presented by: Joanna Butterfield
Community Coach ? Development - Keith Gardner (Forth Valley Flyers)"
Keith Gardner
Forth Valley Flyers
Community Coach ? Development
Sponsored by: Ogilvie Home
Presented by: Sandy Ogilvie
The Blair Forbes Junior Sports Person of the Year - Amy Currie (Forth Valley Flyers)"
Amy Currie
Forth Valley Flyers
The Blair Forbes Junior Sports Person of the Year
Sponsored by: Clackmannanshire Sport Council
Presented by: Provost ? Tina Murphy and Matthew Forbes
Senior Sports Person of the Year - Joanna Butterfield (Forth Valley Flyers)"
Joanna Butterfield
Forth Valley Flyers
Senior Sports Person of the Year
Sponsored by: Stirling Council
Presented by: Provost Mike Robbins
Service to Sport - Fraser Mathieson (FVDS Committee and Bowls)"
Fraser Mathieson
FVDS Committee and Bowls
Service to Sport
Sponsored by: 2e-volve
Presented by: Gavin Macleod
Volunteer of the Year - Lorraine Whannel (Right on Target Boccia Club)"
Lorraine Whannel
Right on Target Boccia Club
Volunteer of the Year
Sponsored by: Falkirk Council
Presented by: Provost Pat Reid
Young Volunteer of the Year - Declan Kidd (Arion Swimming Club)"
Declan Kidd
Arion Swimming Club
Young Volunteer of the Year
Sponsored by: Duncan Adams
Presented by: Eric Adams
Access Award - Fraser Johnstone (Right on Target Boccia Club)"
Fraser Johnstone
Right on Target Boccia Club
Access Award
Sponsored by: LK Galaxy
Presented by: Tony Ford
Access Award - Gavin Miller (Arion Swimming Club)"
Gavin Miller
Arion Swimming Club
Access Award
Sponsored by: Castle View
Presented by: Martin Bell
Club of the Year - Stirling City All Stars ()"
Stirling City All Stars

Club of the Year
Sponsored by: Cameron Trophies
Presented by: George Cameron

Go back to the news page