Forth Valley Disability Sport AGM and Awards 2017

Forth Valley Disability Sport held their AGM and Awards at the Stirling Albert Hall on Monday 20th February 2017. The purpose of the award ceremony is to reward and acknowledge the hard work and dedication of athletes, coaches and volunteers in the year of 2016.

Angus Whyte FVDS Chair Person and Graham Harvey FVDS Branch Coordinator of Forth Valley Disability Sport presented the award briefly highlighted each of the achievements of the nominees for the 10 categories of awards. FVDS Young Volunteers were also presented with Saltire Awards for there volunteering over the past year at club sessions, fundraising and sporting events.

The evening was hailed a great success by coaches, clubs, athletes and volunteers alike. Mitchell Graham, FVDS Youth Worker in Sports Trainee said "the nominees enthusiasm and hard work had paid off. The winners greatly deserved their awards." Many thanks goes to all the sponsors of awards listed below but a special thank you must go to Falkirk, Stirling and Clackmannanshire Councils who sponsored the evening by providing the excellent venue and buffet for all attendees, and to Cameron Trophies for supplying the awards and continuing to support our awards evening.

Thanks also to our guest speaker Svend Elkjaer, Sports Marketing Network, and Stirling Council Provost Christine Simpson for presenting the closing remark respectively.

If you or anyone else would like to know more information about Forth Valley Disability Sport, please contact us, telephone 01786 466486 or connect with us on Facebook or Twitter.

Forth Valley Disability Sport AGM and Awards 2017

Linda Allen The Community Coach Participation Award

Linda Allen from The Stirling Swimming Club,presented by Colin Naismith from Active Stirling.

Sponsored by Active Stirling.
The Community Coach Development Award

Gary Vandermeulen from The Central Swimming Squads, presented by Gavin Macleod from Scottish Disability Sport.

Sponsored by Ogilive Homes.
Gary Vandermeulen
Andrew Stuart The Blair Forbes Junior Sports Person of the Year Award

Andrew Stuart from Golf, presented by Provost Tina Murphy of Clackmannanshire Council and Mathew Forbes.

Sponsored by Clackmannanshire Sport Council.
Senior Sports Person of the Year Award

Laura Cluxton from Cycling, presented by Provost Christina Simpson of Stirling Council.

Sponsored by Stirling Council.
Laura Cluxton
Ron McArthur Service to Sport Award

Ron McArthur from Falkirk indoor Bowling Club, presented by Robbie Stewart from Sportscotland.

Sponsored by 2e-volve.
Volunteer of the year Award

Irene Holderness from Forth Valley Flyers ACm presented by Provost William Buchanan from Falkirk Council.

Sponsored by Falkirk Council.
Irene Holderness
Gavin Miller Young Volunteer of the Year Award

Gavin Miller from Forth Valley Youth Committee presented by Marjorie McFarlane from Clackmannanshire Council Sports Development.

Sponsored by Duncan Adams.
The Achievement Award 2017

Claire Robertson from Enable Arion Swimming Club, presented by Svend Elkjaer from Sports Management Network.

Sponsored by FVDS.
Claire Robertson
Jon-Paul MacGregor Newcomer Award 2017

Jon-Paul MacGregor from Forth Valley Flyers AC, presented by Martin Bell from Castleview Management Services.

Sponsored by Castleview Management Services.
Club of the Year Award

Graham Ross receiving the award on behalf of the Forth Valley Flyers AC, presented by George Cameron.

Sponsored by Cameron Trophies.
Forth Valley Flyers AC

Go back to the news page